United Way

Cabinet / Chairs

Campaign Cabinet volunteers are top executives & local community leaders who develop strategies for, and implement, successful workplace campaigns.

These are the people with a passion for helping our community, who give of their time, working diligently to quietly pull off our fundraising campaign year after year. They are the essence of what we are able to accomplish in Jackson County. They are actively out telling the United Way story, raising money and awareness among their peers in business, finance, education, government and professional sectors of our county. We are grateful for the volunteer powerhouse that is Campaign Cabinet.

Chair Brian VanBlarcum, Vice-Chair Mike Smajda
Chair Brian VanBlarcum, Vice-Chair Mike Smajda



Campaign Chair  
Brian VanBlarcum, Consumers Energy

Campaign Vice-Chair
Mike Smajda, Western School District

CMS/ Consumers Energy
Mary Palkovich, Executive Sponsor
Brad Rickert, Cabinet Representative
Craig Degenfelder, Cabinet Representative
Fallon Walker, Cabinet Representative.

Joe Shaughnessy, MACI
Chad Rumsey, County National Bank
Fred Shaffer, Eaton Aerospace

General Business
Stacy Snyder, CP Federal Credit Union
Wendy Bamm, Harland Clarke
Zach Gillette, Consumers Energy

County Government
Chair: Richard Thoune 

City Government
Chair: John Willis, Neighborhood Outreach Coordinator

Allegiance Health
Jill Yehl, Henry Ford Allegiance Health
Hayley Bollinger, Henry Ford Allegiance Health

Chair: Mike Smajda,  Western School District
Co-Chair: Kevin Schwemmin, Baker College

Health and Human Services
Chair: Shelly Milligan, Breakout Drug Education

Phil Bickel, Retired from Consumers
Roberta Sexton, Retired from Consumers Energy

Dentists: Dr. Ed Mathein, Center for Family Health
Attorneys: Vacant 
Accountants:  Vacant

Labor Representatives
Randy Ramirez, Miller Tool & Die
Margaret Grose, Labor Liaison United Way of Jackson County